"Hope Rekindled"- The 20th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of University of Moratuwa

The 20th installation
ceremony of the Rotaract club of the University of Moratuwa for the year
2015/16 was held on the 19th of July at the Grand Oriental Hotel. Rtr.
Madhumali Kodikara, Rtr. Jude Fonseka and Rtr. Gehanya Gamage represented our
club for this event.
The proceedings of the
evening commenced with the arrival of the dignitaries. The chief guest for the
event was Rtn. Satyajith Seneviratne and the guest of honor for the evening was
the deputy Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa, prof. R. A. Attalage.
Following the lighting
of the oil lamp, the house was called to order.
The gathering was
welcomed by the chairperson of the installation, Rtr. Kanishka Wijayasekara.
During the Secretary’s report for the year 2014/15, special attention was
brought to a number of projects carried out by the club during the year. The Rotaract
club of the University of Moratuwa has completed 62 projects during the last
year and recorded the highest number of projects completed within a year in the
history of the club. The main projects of the term were highlighted during the
secretary’s report.
The outgoing President,
Rtr. Ridwan Sharifdeen handed over the responsibilities and duties to the President
for the year 2015/16, Rtr. Amitha Dissanayake who then distributed tokens of
appreciation to the outgoing board members. Once the new board was introduced,
the 20th President of the the Rotaract Club of University of Moratuwa addressed
the gathering for the first time.
Outgoing President, Rtr. Ridwan Sharifdeen collaring the incoming President Rtr. Amitha Dissanayake (Source:LetMeKnow.lk)
The President
introduced the theme for the year, “Hope Rekindled” for earth. The
emphasis on a green initiative for this year was highlighted during his speech.
A short video clip had been prepared for the launch of this theme.
During his speech, the
DRR Rtr. Tharmakulerajasingham Sathiyeandra asked the question “why Rotaract?”
and went on to say that Rotaract was able to carry out a total of 1800 projects
during the last year.
The DRCC Rtn. Saifu
Adamaly explained the importance of Rotasia and went onto explain the various
issues that take place during the conversion from Rotaractors to Rotarians.
There were many Past Presidents
and Vice Presidents present at this installation. To commemorate the special
occasion, a cake was cut by all the Past Presidents and Vice Presidents. Tokens
of appreciation were presented to these individuals that contributed for the
success of this club for the past 20 years.
The Guest of Honor and
the Chief Guest then addressed the audience. The stage was then open for
felicitation and on behalf of our club Rtr. Gehanya Gamage congratulated the Past
President while wishing the new President all the best for a fantastic year
The installation
ceremony concluded with the vote of thanks by the Secretary followed by the
national anthem.
The newly appointed
Board of Directors for the year 2015/16-

President – Rtr. Amitha

Vice President
(Professional development) – Rtr. Sachit Tissera

Vice President
(Community service) – Rtr. Chamara Wijaya

Vice President (Club
service) – Rtr. Pramod Dissanayaka

Vice President
(International understanding) – Rtr. Didula Dissanayaka

Secretary – Rtr. Achini

Treasurer – Rtr.
Tharindu Fernando

Assistant treasurer –
Rtr. Amindha Jayasena

Director Finance – Rtr.
Wathsala Dissanayake

Director IT – Rtr.
Randika Nawagamuwa

Director PR – Rtr.
Lovindu Wijesinghe

Assistant director PR –
Rtr. Pramodya Mendis

Assistant director PR –
Rtr. Wageesha Rasanjana

Co – directors
(Professional development) – Rtr. Waruna Rasanga & Rtr. Chirath

Co – directors
(Community service) – Rtr. Kanishka Wijaysekara & Rtr. Dasuni Samarakoon

Co – directors (Club
service) – Rtr. Tharuka Dilshan & Rtr. Bhanuka Abeygimawardena

Director (International
understanding) – Rtr. Chamal Kuruppu

Director (Special
projects) – Hasini Weerasinghe

Director (Environment)
– Rtr. Chinthaka Jayaratne

Co – editors – Rtr.
Hansadi Jayamaha & Rtr. Hiruni Bandara

Sergeant at arms – Rtr.
Sudaraka Jayathilake

Rotary family coordinator
– Rtr. Rashan Wickramaratne

The Incoming Board of Rotaract Club of University of Moratuwa (Source:LetMeKnow.lk)

The Rotaract Club of
University of Colombo, Faculty of Management & Finance wishes the best for
the incoming President and the incoming board of Rotaract Club of University of
Moratuwa for a successful Rotaract year 2015/16.

RC UOC FMF members Rtr. Jude and Rtr. Gehanya with incoming President Rtr. Amitha Dissanayake 
Reported by-
Rtr. Gehanya Gamage
Compiled by-
Rtr. Bhashini Gamage (Sub-Editor)

No Comments

Post A Comment