7th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of National School of Business Management (NSBM)

The 7th Installation Ceremony of the National School of Business Management was held on the 13th of July 2019 at the NSBM Auditorium Pitipana. Rtr. Shehani Leo, Rtr. Samiddhi Wanigasekara, Rtr. Iresha Aponsu, Rtr. Harindi Dias and Rtr. Tharushi Hatharasinghe from RACUOCFMF were present to rejoice this new leadership.

RACUOCFMF at the Installation

With the arrival of the dignitaries of the event which included the Chief Guest for the day the President of the Rotary club of Colombo West Rtn. Pravir Samarasinghe, Committee Chairperson Rtn. PP. Jegathesan Pirrasanth, District Rotaract Representative Rtr. PP Krishan Balaji, the event commenced.

Before they took their respective places at the head table they were invited to the lighting of the traditional oil lamp to continue the evening. Then the Sergeant-at-Arms Rtr. Arshath called the house to order followed by the National Anthem, Rotaract Invocation, Flag Salutation, Four Way Test and the Rotaract Song.

The event proceedings then continued as the Chairperson of the Installation Rtr. Ameera warmly welcomed the gathering while signifying their theme for the year 2019/20 - “Act with Integrity and Serve with Love."

Afterwards, the Secretary’s Report for the year 2018/19 was delivered by the Past Assistant Secretary Rtr. Ornille Symons on behalf of the Past Secretary Rtr. Nelushi Perera. Next the Outgoing President Rtr. IPP Piyath Gunawardana addressed the gathering. He extended his sincere gratitude to the Outgoing Board for their immense contribution and highlighted the contribution of each and every individual including club members and those outside the club who had guided him during his journey of presidency. This was followed by the distribution of Tokens of Appreciation for some of the significant contributors.

The next event on the agenda for the day would have undoubtedly gone down in NSBM’s Rotaract Club history as of one of the most remarkable moments! It was the introduction of the President for the year 2019/20, Rtr. Ruvi Samarakoon as the 1st ever lady President of the club! This special moment was made extra special as she was introduced affectionately by her own sister Rtr. Vishara Samarakoon and was gracefully collared by the Outgoing President Rtr. IPP Piyath Gunawardana.

Then the stage was opened to the newly appointed president Rtr. Ruvi Samarakoon to address the audience where she beautifully conveyed that “Big or small, our contribution matters” and “Nothing is bigger than the heart of a volunteer." She also made it an opportunity to thank all the supporters who guided her to reach this achievement in her Rotaract journey. In winding up her speech she introduced her Board of Directors for the year 2019/20.


The Executive Committee and Board of Directors for 2019/20 are as follows,

  • Vice President – Rtr. Senuri
  • Vice President - Rtr. Janith
  • Vice President - Rtr. Mark
  • Secretary - Rtr. Abdhulla Hafiz
  • Assistant Secretary - Rtr. Malmi
  • Treasurer - Rtr. Senil
  • Sergeant At Arms- Rtr. Zaaffi
  • Club Service Director – Rtr. Kisal
  • Club Service Co- Director - Rtr. Ameera
  • Community Service Director - Rtr. Nethuli
  • Community Service Co - Director -  Rtr. Yashodya
  • International Service Director – Rtr. Tiara
  • Professional Development Director - Rtr. Pasan
  • Finance Director - Rtr. Kalindu
  • Public Relations Director - Rtr. Nitharshan
  • IT Director - Rtr. Malith
  • Sports Director - Rtr. Subodha

After the much enjoyed entertainment item the Outgoing President and his Board was appreciated and warm wishes were extended to the Incoming President and her Board by the following dignitaries; District Rotaract Representative Rtr. PP Krishan Balaji, Committee Chairperson Rtn. PP. Pirassanth Jegatheesan and the President of the Rotary Club of Colombo West Rtn. Pravir Samarasinghe.

The Incoming Board was advised by them on how to move forward while doing better in future. Then the Tokens of Appreciation were distributed by Rtr. Ruvi Samarakoon to the distinguished guests for the evening and thereafter the floor was opened for felicitations where Rotaractors of all the clubs who participated that day congratulated the Outgoing Board on a tremendous job done and added well wishes to the Incoming Board for the upcoming year.

This memorable evening came to an end with the Vote of Thanks by the Secretary for the year 2019/20 Rtr. Abdhulla Hafiz.The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Management and Finance (RACUOCFMF) would like to extend warm wishes to Rtr. Ruvi Samarakoon and her board for their upcoming journey they just embarked upon!


Written By:
Rtr. Tharushi Hatharasinghe
(Member – 2019/20)

No Comments

Post A Comment