47th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Colombo West

The 47th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of Colombo West was held on the 18th of July 2020 from 5.30 p.m. onwards via Facebook live. Rtr. Nilasi Perera, Rtr. Abirshanaa Nithiyanantharajah, Rtr. Raagavi Thayalasingham and Rtr. Venuri Perera from RACUOCFMF were virtually present to witness the dawn of a new era in the journey of the Rotaract Club of Colombo West.

To commence the installation ceremony, the traditional oil lamp was brightened by the chief guest Rtn. PHF Brian Selvanayagam together with the other dignitaries. Once the house was called to order by the Sergeant-at-arms, all rose for the national anthem, which was then followed by the Rotaract proceedings; the Flag Salutation, Rotaract Invocation, Four-Way Test and the Rotaract Song.

Next, the Chairperson of the Installation committee welcomed the attendees to the ceremony, followed by the Secretary’s Report for the year 2019/20 presented by the outgoing secretary Rtr. Danica Harding. She highlighted that the club has executed 48 projects successfully and inducted 41 members and proudly stated their accomplishments at the 30th Rotaract District Assembly. Moments before she signed off, a short video of the highlights of the year was screened to reminisce the delightful memories.

Afterwards, the Outgoing President Rtr. Sahan Gunasekara addressed the gathering and extended his sincere gratitude to all the individuals who had supported him during the year of his presidency. He then presented the tokens of appreciation to his parents and few other individuals present at the event. Momentarily an introduction to the President for the year 2020/21, Rtr. Nimesha Jayamanne was given by Rtr. Danica Harding and Rtr. Carine Anandage. It was indeed an entertaining speech which turned out to be a highlight of the glorious day.

Afterwards, Rtr. Nimesha Jayamanne was collared as the President for the year 2020/21 by the Immediate Past President Rtr. Sahan Gunasekara which with no doubt was the most anticipated moment of the day.

The newly appointed president then delivered an insightful speech in which she touched upon the future projects and plans of the club and introduced the Board Members for the year 2020/21.

The Executive Committee and Board of Directors for 2020/21 are as follows;

  • President– Rtr. Nimesha Jayamanne
  • Immediate Past President– Rtr. Sahan Gunasekara
  • Vice president- Rtr. Danica Harding
  • Vice President- Rtr. Peshala Dayanatha
  • Secretary– Rtr. Chamodi Rathnasinghe
  • Assistant Secretary- Rtr. Ramitha Collince
  • Assistant Secretary- Rtr. Thameena Banu
  • Treasurer– Rtr. Yohan Dhananjaya
  • Sergeant at Arms– Rtr. Shadley Fernando
  • Editor– Rtr. Carine Anandage
  • Director Club Service – Rtr. Brenn Anandage
  • Director Club Service- Rtr. Aniq Ameer
  • Director Community Service– Rtr. Dileema Yapa
  • Director Community Service- Rtr. Dinali Rajapakse
  • Director International service– Rtr. Ziyan Jaufer
  • Director International service- Rtr. Annatta Devananda
  • Director Professional Development– Rtr. Thisala Gajadeera
  • Director Professional Development- Rtr. Saisuthan Rajakaruna
  • Public Relations Director- Rtr. Ravindu Ubeynarayana
  • Public Relations Director- Rtr. Ahamed Haziq
  • Director Sports– Rtr. Ravidu Banagala
  • Director Sports- Rtr. Nethmi Liyanage
  • Director Special Projects- Rtr. Malik Jameel

Afterwards, the gathering was addressed by the District Rotaract Representative Rtn. Rtr. Kasun Sigera. He briefed the gathering on the current situation in the country and the ways in which we can help one another and rise as one family.

This was followed by the insightful speeches delivered by the Co-District Rotaract committee chairperson for the year 2020/21 Rtn. IPP Danya Udukumbure, the District Youth Service chairperson for the year 2020/21 Rtn. PHF. Dr. Rohantha Athukorala and finally the Chief Guest of the ceremony Rtn. PHF Brian Selvanayagam. Next, the tokens of appreciation were presented to the dignitaries by the incoming president. The event came to an end following the felicitations and the Vote of thanks delivered by the Secretary for the year 2020/21 Rtr. Chamodi Rathnasinghe.

It was indeed an honour for the Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Management and Finance to be a part of this memorable ceremony. We extend our heartiest wishes to Rtr. Nimesha Jayamanne and her Board of Directors for an incredible year ahead.

Written By:

Rtr. Raagavi Thayalasinghan
( Blog Team Member – 2020/21 )

Rtr. Abirshanaa Nithiyanantharajah
( Blog Team Member – 2020/21 )

Edited By:

Rtr. Razna Farook
( Blog Team Member – 2020/21 )

No Comments

Post A Comment