11th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya

The 11th Installation Ceremony of the Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya was held on the 7th of August 2020. Rtr. Adithya Dehigama and Rtr. Yasindu Mendis from RACUOCFMF were virtually present to witness the dawn of a novel era of the Rotaract Club of University of Kelaniya.

The ceremony commenced with the lighting of the traditional oil lamp by the dignitaries after which the house was called to order by the Sergeant-at-Arms which was followed by the Formal Rotaract Proceedings; The National Anthem, The Flag Salutation, Rotaract Invocation, Four-Way test and the Rotaract Song.

District Rotaract Representative Rtn. Rtr. Kasun Sigera

After a warm welcome extended by the Project Chairperson Rtr. Dinushi Peiris, the Outgoing Secretary Rtr. Nemindi Ratnayake delivered the Secretary’s Report for the year 2019/20. She highlighted that the club commenced its activities in July 2019 under the theme “Embellish Excellence” which guided them in successfully completing over 30 projects including the award winning joint social media campaign, ‘Women Force’ and signature projects such as Pensala, Genesis and Habla Vous Deutsch. She also proudly stated that the official website of the Rotaract Club of Kelaniya was launched during the preceding year.

She concluded her speech with a short throwback video which included reminiscences of the cherished moments of the past year.

Next the Outgoing President, Rtr. Rivi Wijerathne was invited to share a few words. He delivered quite an emotional speech where he mentioned that among the many things the movement offered, he was most grateful for the ‘Pure Happiness and Non Judgemental Friendships’, and he further stated that ‘PETS & SETS 2019/20’ will be his fondest Rotaract memory. He then signed off as the President for the year 2019/20 on a high note as he presented a video of felicitation expressing his sincere gratitude towards each and every individual for their untiring efforts in driving the club to reach greater heights.

Next was the most anticipated moment of the event, where Rtr. Nipuna Rambukkanage was gracefully collared as the President for the year 2020/21, by the Outgoing President Rtr. IPP. Rivi Wijeratne.

Rtr. Nipuna (Left) & Rtr. Rivi (Right)

Afterwards, the newly appointed President Rtr. Nipuna Rambukkanage addressed the gathering, introducing the vision for the New Rotaract Year under the theme “Dream, Serve and Relish”. Reminding everyone the challenging and erratic journey ahead he stated, “The road ahead is tough but together we can overcome it”. He concluded his speech by promising to give his maximum to the betterment of the club and thereupon introduced his exceptional Board of Directors for the year 2020/2021.

The Executive Committee and Board of Directors for 2020/21 are as follows;

  • President - Rtr. Nipuna Rambukkanage
  • Immediate Past President – Rtr. IPP. Rivi Wijeratne
  • Vice Presidents – Kisal Ekanyake, Rtr.Hiruni Chamika, Rtr.Hasini Himaya
  • Secretary – Sahan Silva
  • Treasurer – Temalka Prasad
  • Assistant Secretary - Rtr. Avisha Malalaratne
  • Sergeant-at-Arms – Umesha Anuththara
  • Senior Editor – Parami Ranasinghe
  • Co-Editors - Rtr. Isuri Gunatilake, Rtr. Isuru Dissanayake
  • Directors Club Service – Dinushi Peiris, Rtr. Pasan Sirimanne
  • Directors Community Service – Gimhani Rathnayake, Rtr. Nethmi Fonseka
  • Directors International Service – Devindi Weerasekara, Rtr. Hansika Bandara
  • Directors Professional Development – Yadhuravi Ramachandran, Rtr. Chamini Nimeshika
  • Directors Member Relations – Madhusha Jayaratne, Rtr. Dhanuka Piushan
  • Directors Sports & Entertainment – Rusira Samarasinghe, Rtr. Kalani Perera
  • Director Finance – Malith Kavinda
  • Director Club Relations - Rtr. Punsisi Liyanage
  • Director Public Relations - Rtr. Mandakini Aththanayake
  • Directors Digital Media – Supun Viduranga, Rtr. Osura Deemantha


The occasion was marked by yet another significant moment which was the launch of a newly moderated version of the Official Website of RACUOK. *Woot Woot*

Click to check out the brand-new version of the RACUOK Website if you haven’t already!

Next the District Rotaract Representative Rtn. Rtr. PP. Kasun Sigera addressed the gathering. While commending on the great achievements of the club, he extended an open invitation to all Rotaractors to identify their potential and plan their Rotaract journey ahead and to grasp every opportunity offered by the movement. Afterwards, the Chief Guest, President of the Rotary Club of Colombo Uptown Rtn. Vishwa Lokugamage addressed the gathering and ensured his continuous support.

After a mesmerizing entertainment item, tokens of Appreciation were presented to the guests of the evening and then the stage was opened for felicitations. The ceremony was concluded for fellowship and refreshments, followed by the Vote of Thanks delivered by the Secretary for 2020/21 Rtr. Sahan Silva.

It was indeed a pleasure for The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Management and Finance to be a part of this ceremony and would like to extend its warm wishes to Rtr. Nipuna Rambukkanage and his Board, for a fruitful and outstanding year ahead. 



Written By:
Rtr. Yasindu Mendis
(Treasurer – 2020/21)

Edited By:
Rtr. Abirshanaa Nithiyanantharajah
(Blog Team Member – 2020/21)

No Comments

Post A Comment