16th Transition General Meeting of the Rotaract Club of Kelaniya

The Official Transition Meeting of the Rotaract Club of Kelaniya for the year 2020/21 was held on the 25th of July 2020 at the Hotel Royal Grand Paradise, Kelaniya. The entire event was live streamed via Facebook and Rtr.Tishani Ranawana, Rtr.Kaushalya Dabare and Rtr.Dilani Perera virtually attended the meeting representing RACUOCFMF.

The event commenced with the arrival and the ushering of the dignitaries to the head table. The chief guest of the event was the President of the Rotary club of Kelaniya; Rtn. Wasantha Arabewala and alongside, the other dignitaries the Youth Service Chair of Rotary Club of Kelaniya;  Rtn. Manel Adihetti, Rtn. PP Milroy Peiris, and District Rotaract Representative; Rtr. PP Kasun Sigera graced the event.

The ceremony officially commenced with the national anthem followed by the Sergeant at Arms, Rtr. Chemini Ruvindya calling the house to order which was followed by the conventional formalities; Flag Salutation, Rotaract Invocation, Four-Way test and the Rotaract Song.

After the warm welcome, the Secretary’s Report for the year 2019/20 was delivered by the Secretary for the year 2019/20, Rtr. Hashali Perera. In her speech she mentioned that the club successfully executed 30 projects across all avenues over the past Rotaract Calendar Year. She heightened the success of the year 2019/20 by mentioning that the club initiated its first twin club agreement and also mentioning their award of Platinum Distinction for RI Citation 2019/20.

Next, the outgoing president of the Rotaract Club of Kelaniya, Rtr. Ranga Samarakoon who was also known as ‘’Ranga Rocks’’ by his members, addressed the gathering in order to share his experience and to wish the incoming president and her board for a successful year ahead. A beautiful video about their projects and memories of the club for the year 2019/20 was presented to the audience after his speech.

The next event on the agenda for the day was the introduction of the president for the year 2020/21, Rtr. Oshadie Wedarachchi by Rtr. Hashali Perera. Then the most awaited moment of the day arrived when the President for the year 2020/21 Rtr. Oshadie Wedarachchi was collared as the newly appointed president to take forward the duties and further enhance the value of the club.

Rtr. Oshadie (Left) & Rtr. Ranga (Right)

Then the stage was opened to the newly appointed President to address the gathering as the 16th President of the Rotaract Club of Kelaniya. In winding up her speech, she stated, “If you wait until the best moment to do something, you are never going to do that. Because theres no perfect time for anything. Do it now. It is what you do right now, that will make a difference.” Subsequently, the newly appointed president introduced her Board of Directors for the year 2020/21.

The Executive Committee and Board of Directors for 2020/21 are as follows;

  • Immediate Past President- Rtr. IPP Ranga Samarakoon
  • Vice President- Rtr. Hashali Perera
  • Vice President- Rtr. Dexter Peiris
  • Joint Secretaries- Rtr. Shashi Widanapathirana and Rtr. Thashmila Nadeeshani
  • Treasurer- Rtr. Chethaka Hissella
  • Sergeant-at-Arms- Rtr. Chemini Ruvindya
  • Joint Editor- Rtr. Achini Yasodara
  • Co-Directors of Club Service- Rtr. Tharindu Pathinayake and Rtr. Inuri Galhena
  • Director of Community Service- Rtr. Praveen Peiris
  • Director of International Service- Rtr. IPP Ranga Samarakoon
  • Co-Directors of Professional Development- Rtr. Chathurika Pilapitiya and Rtr. Dasith Wijesinghe
  • Director PR/ Digital Communications- Rtr. Kavinda Sumanaweera


Afterwards, the chief guest of the day, President of the Rotary Club of Kelaniya Rtn.  Wasantha Arabewala, addressed the gathering. He highly appreciated the hard work of Rtr. Ranga Samarakoon and his team making them to deservedly be awarded the Platinum Distinction for RI Citation 2019/20. The Chief Guest highlighted the importance of individual members’ behavior in the society, as it would contribute to display a positive or a negative perception about the Rotaract Club.  He further elaborated this by bringing out the example of Saint Mother Teresa. He showed that the reason for her work/service being recognized and acclaimed throughout the world was due to her behavior. In concluding his speech, the Chief Guest congratulated the newly appointed   president and her Board of Directors for a bright future.

Subsequently, the District Rotaract Representative Rtr. PP Kasun Sigera addressed the gathering where he congratulated the newly appointed President and the Board of Directors and appreciated the hard work of all past presidents.

To conclude the event, the tokens of appreciation were distributed to the Outgoing Executive Committee and the distinguished guests. It was notable that the tokens, which were distributed on the day, were flower plants grown in recycled plastic bottles that were hand made by the club members under the initiative of ‘Think Pink’.

Afterwards, the Secretaries for the year 2020/21 delivered the vote of thanks, which was followed by the termination of the Official Transition Meeting where everyone gathered for fellowship and refreshments.

The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Management and Finance would like to extend its warm wishes to Rtr. Oshadie Wedarachchi and her Board of Directors for a successful year ahead!

Written by:
Rtr. Dilani Perera
(Co-Director-International Service-2020/21)


Edited by:
Rtr. Sahani Jayamaha
(Blog Team Member – 2020/21)

No Comments

Post A Comment